My To Read List of 2017

2017-01-15-20.25.35-1080x675.jpg

I know we’re nearing the end of January but I just had to write a post on my To Read list for 2017 because I’m genuinely looking forward to my line up. Last year I had a “terrible” habit of buying books and just putting them on my shelf, not to be picked up again in the near future but I have made it my mission this year to not only to pick them up again but to actually read them seems as the amount of books I have done that to is well over 50 at this point.

My reading goal for this year is 60, 10 more than my goal last year, and I have made a To Read list of 36 of my books that are homed on my shelf, I have left a space for 24 books for recommendations, borrowed books from the library and any exciting books that will be launched in 2017. So far I am on 2 books this year, one graphic novel and one manga completed, and I am currently reading 2 amazing books which I’m really taking my time to savour; When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi and Wild Encounters, a photography book by the incredible fine art photographer David Yarrow. Both of these books are breathtaking and I’m finding that I am taking my time because I don’t want them to end but reviews will be up very soon!

So this blog post is a list of some of the books I’m really excited to read this year for various reasons. I’m not going to list all 36 books on my current list, just a few that are really making me look forward to the year ahead.

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

This book was on a list of books to read in 2017 and when I read the synopsis I had to get my hands on it. It follows the story of two sisters, Effia and Esi, whose lives go in separate directions; one marries a slave trader and the other becomes a slave and from this line I was hooked. It has had rave reviews and I’m really looking forward to jumping into this book and seeing how these stories entwine.

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

This book is all I have heard about and, from what I’ve heard, it draws you in instantly. I love books that do that, they bring you in and keep you there until the end. From talking to readers who have read this, this book leaves a mark on you so I’m looking forward to see whether this lives up to the hype.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Yes I know, I’m only just jumping on the Outlander bandwagon and I think I’m probably one of the last ones left to do so. I’ve been intrigued by this for a while but stayed away from it due to the hype (I tend to steer clear of overly hyped books) but apparently this series gets better as it goes on and the television series is so successful that I thought that it was worth a shot. I’m not into romance books but I’ve heard that even though there’s romance, there’s more history, blood and guts which I am all for.

The Periodic Table By Primo Levi

I’m ashamed to say that I’ve had this book on my shelf now for years and haven’t picked it up since I bought it, however, 2017 is the year that this book is going to be read. Primo Levi is an incredible person and I really want to read his book Survival in Auschwitz but The Periodic Table intrigued me more. It is a memoir of Levi’s life before and after the Holocaust and each chapter is named after a chemical element which, in some way, relates to that particular time in his life. I thought that it was a genius way to structure a book and I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

This is another book that I wanted for so long, bought, placed on the shelf and haven’t picked it up yet. I’m more of a fiction kind of girl but I have heard nothing but good things about this book. Also, I am an English Literature graduate and if I have one more person say to me “oh my god, you haven’t read In Cold Blood!” I may go insane!

So this is just a very small list of the books I have in store for my this year and I can’t wait to get stuck in!

What’s on your list for 2017? I have 24 spaces left to fill so if you have any recommendations for me, just put them in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “My To Read List of 2017

Leave a Reply

