Down the TBR Rabbit Hole #1

After reading the lovely Aria’s blog post at http://bluelilyandblue.com, I thought I should take a look at my Goodreads TBR list. I am guilty of simply throwing books on to the pile and never getting around to reading them so I thought a little sort through my TBR list might do the world of good and bring my TBR list down to a more manageable size, or it will simply make space for me to add more books which, let’s face it, is more likely.

This idea came from Lia at https://lostinastory.blog and here’s how it works:

1. Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
2. Order on ascending date added.
3. Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
4. Read the blurb of the books
5. Decide: keep it or should it go?

Book 1: Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood

609524.jpg

My first instinct was to remove this but then I read the synopsis again and I have to admit I am intrigued. I haven’t read any of Atwood’s work and I think, from what I’ve heard, The Handmaid’s Tale is quite intense so maybe this will be a nice introduction into her writing.

VerdictKeep

Book 2: Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie

14836.jpg

I bought this book because it was on a list of ‘Books Everyone Must Read Before They Die’ and Salman Rushdie is such a prominent literary figure, however, the synopsis doesn’t appeal to me at all. I will read it one day, just not right now.

Verdict: Dropped

Book 3: Lord of the Flies by William Golding

7624.jpg

Another classic that I just haven’t found time to read yet. The premise has always intrigued me but I’ve been a bit too nervous to read it because I have heard mixed things about it. I think I’m going to take the plunge.

Verdict: Keep

Book 4: Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

181309.jpg

I’m starting to see a recurring theme with these books, apparently I wanted to catch up on my classics when I first started Goodreads. Anyway, this book has always been one that I have been itching to read so I think I will have to put it on my list to read in the next few weeks.

Verdict: Keep

Book 5: The Trial by Franz Kafka

822733.jpg

Another classic from the ‘Read Before You Die’ list and I have actually attempted to read this one. I started it and found that it is a book that you simply have to keep reading, if you put it down it’s hard to get back into the flow of it. I think there are other books that I want to give my time to more than this one at the moment.

Verdict: Dropped

So there you have it, the first five books on my Goodreads TBR list finally sorted through! I think this is a great idea to get you started, I may even do another one for the books I have more recently added.

If you decide to do one, please tag me in your post so I can see which books you have kept or dropped.

Happy sorting!

One thought on “Down the TBR Rabbit Hole #1

  1. This is such a great idea! I don’t actually add books to my Good Reads TBR very often but I’m sure there are a few in there I could probably get rid of!

    Like

Leave a Reply

